Main Content

There are 5 oceans, not 4, National Geographic declares


National Geographic announced this week that it would now officially recognize a fifth ocean called the Southern Ocean. Geographers says the swift current circling Antarctica keeps the waters distinct and worthy of their own name.

News and Information Daytime Highlight
Appearing:Savannah Guthrie
Tags: news, Editor's picks, big news, Environment, today


We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our cookie policy.