Dan Yoder
Miguel Hernandez
Caroline Yoder
Lisette Hernandez
Molly Yoder
Junior Hernandez
Demetrio Hernandez

Ricardo A. Chavira

Miguel Hernandez

Ricardo Chavira plays Miguel Hernandez in NBC's new comedy "Welcome to the Family."

Born in Austin and raised in San Antonio, Texas, Chavira's orientation toward an acting career started when he attended Performing Arts High School, followed by Incarnate World College. He received his MFA in 2000 from UC San Diego's Professional Actor Training Program and moved to Los Angeles shortly thereafter.

While many actors have a difficult time breaking into the entertainment business, Chavira started to work immediately.

He portrayed Carlos Solis on ABC's award-winning series "Desperate Housewives" for the entire run of the drama. Some of his other TV credits include a leading role in the A&E film "Kings of South Beach" and guest-starring roles in numerous series, including "Six Feet Under," "The Division," "Monk," "JAG," "24" and "The George Lopez Show."

The well-rounded actor also co-starred in the independent film "Don't Let Me Drown," which was nominated for a Grand Jury Prize at the 2009 Sundance Film Festival. The movie also won best feature at the San Francisco International Film Festival. In the film, Chavira conveyed a father's anguish after he loses his daughter in the 9/11 terrorist attacks.

He brought the same angst and power to his performance as the iconic Stanley Kowalski in the classic play "A Streetcar Named Desire," in which he starred at the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis. Some of his other theater credits include "Tracers" at the Odyssey Theater in Los Angeles, "Dogeaters" at the La Jolla Playhouse, and "Bandido" at San Diego Rep.

Over the years, Chavira has brought the same level of passion for his work to his support for breast cancer awareness and research. After losing his mother to the disease as a teenager, he is committed to doing whatever he can to help educate the public and raise funds for research.

Chavira has two children, Tomas Antonio and Belen Elysabeth.