About the Show

"Smash" is a musical drama that celebrates the beauty and heartbreak of the Broadway theater as it follows a cross-section of dreamers and schemers who all have one common desire - to be a "Smash."

In Season 2, the "Bombshell" team comes one step closer to achieving their Broadway dream. The Boston run was the success the team was hoping for, including producer Eileen Rand (Academy Award winner Anjelica Huston, "Prizzi's Honor"); writers Tom Levitt (Tony Award winner Christian Borle, "Peter and the Starcatcher"); and Julia Houston (Emmy Award winner Debra Messing, "Will & Grace"); last-minute star Karen Cartwright (Katharine McPhee, "American Idol"); and director Derek Wills (Jack Davenport, "Pirates of the Caribbean"). But, they are all about to learn even a charmed show cannot avoid paying for sins of the past. Will Eileen get away with mixing business and pleasure with her shady paramour, Nick (guest star Thorsten Kaye)? Will Julia's marriage to Frank (guest star Brian d'Arcy James) survive the revelation of her infidelity? Will actress Ivy Lynn (Megan Hilty, "9 to 5: The Musical") bounce back from the shame of losing the lead role to rival Karen and bedding her fiance in retaliation? And will Tom and Julia's long-time partnership endure the changing tides of opportunity?

As they all scramble to push forward, one of the show's players finds Brooklyn natives Jimmy Collins (Tony Award nominee Jeremy Jordan, "Newsies") and Kyle Bishop (Andy Mientus, "Carrie: The Musical") toiling away on a current-day rock musical of their own, which could either become "Bombshell"'s biggest rival, or yet one more Broadway false start.

Weighing both the benefits and sacrifices of a career on Broadway, the "Smash" cast of Broadway hopefuls is rounded out by Karen's lively new roommate/actress Ana Vargas (Krysta Rodriguez, "The Addams Family") and Tom's boyfriend, Sam Strickland (Leslie Odom, Jr., "Leap of Faith").

"Smash" has welcomed an impressive array of guest stars, including Uma Thurman ("The Producers"), Nick Jonas ("Jonas") and Bernadette Peters ("Gypsy"), and the second season is no different. Oscar-, Golden Globe- and Grammy-winning actress-singer Jennifer Hudson ("Dreamgirls") will appear in a multi-episode arc as Veronica Moore, a Tony Award-winning Broadway star who impacts the lives of Karen and Ivy Lynn. Emmy Award-winning actor Sean Hayes (NBC's "Will & Grace") will also recur as Terrence Falls, the star of the musical "Liaisons," who becomes a major thorn in the side for Ivy Lynn (Megan Hilty) and other characters. Jesse L. Martin (NBC's "Law & Order," "Rent") will play Scott Nichols, the artistic director of a non-profit off-Broadway theatre. Additionally, Harvey Fierstein ("La Cage aux Folles") makes a cameo appearance and Nikki Blonsky ("Hairspray") recurs as Margot, a Broadway producer's assistant.

From Universal Television in association with DreamWorks Television, the series stemmed from an idea of executive producer and multiple Emmy and Oscar winner Steven Spielberg ("ER," "Schindler's List"). Executive producers also include Joshua Safran ("Gossip Girl"); Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Oscar-winning "Chicago," "Hairspray"); Darryl Frank and Justin Falvey ("United States of Tara," "The Borgias"); Tony and Grammy Award winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman ("Hairspray," "Catch Me If You Can"); Jim Chory (NBC's "Heroes," "American Dreams"); and Theresa Rebeck ("Mauritius," "NYPD Blue").

Cast Bios

Debra Messing
Christian Borle
Katharine McPhee
Jack Davenport
Megan Hilty
Anjelica Huston
Leslie Odom Jr.
Krysta Rodriguez
Jeremy Jordan
Andy Mientus


Executive Producer

Steven Spielberg, Joshua Safran, Darryl Frank, Justin Falvey, Craig Zadan, Neil Meron, Marc Shaiman, Scott Wittman, Jim Chory, Theresa Rebeck


Theresa Rebeck

Co-Executive Producer

Michael Morris, Bryan Goluboff, Julie Rottenberg, Elisa Zuritsky

Consulting Producer

Becky Mode, Liz Tuccillo


Jordon Nardino

Line Producer

Jim Chory


Joshua Safran, Bryan Goluboff, Julie Rottenberg, Elisa Zuritsky, Becky Mode, Liz Tuccillo, Jordon Nardino, Julia Brownell, Bathsheba Doran, Noelle Valdivia

Casting Director

Bernard Telsey

Production Designer

Ruth Ammon (Series)

Director of Photography

M. David Mullen


Bill Henry, Camilla Toniolo, Allyson Johnson, Amanda Pollack

Original Music By

Marc Shaiman, Scott Wittman

Additional Original Music By

Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Andrew McMahon, Joe Iconis, Drew Gasparini, Lucie Silvas, Jon Green, Jim Irvin, Julian Emery

Original Score By

Chris Bacon

Music Supervisor

Jen Ross, Jojo Villanueva

Music Producer

Sam Hollander, Marc Shaiman, Andy Zulla, Scott Riesett


Josh Bergasse

Costume Designer

Joseph Aulisi


Brooklyn, New York

Developed By

Universal Television in association with DreamWorks Television