Saturday Night Live

About the Show

"Saturday Night Live," NBC's Emmy Award-winning late-night comedy showcase, enters its 40th season in September for another year of laughs, surprises and great performances.
Since its inception in 1975, "SNL" has launched the careers of many of the brightest comedy performers of their generation. As The New York Times noted on the occasion of the show's Emmy-winning 25th Anniversary special in 1999, "in defiance of both time and show business convention, 'SNL' is still the most pervasive influence on the art of comedy in contemporary culture." At the close of the century, "Saturday Night Live" placed seventh on Entertainment Weekly's list of the Top 100 Entertainers of the past fifty years.
The program has won 45 Emmy Awards and now holds the title for the most nominated television show in Emmy history with 187 nominations. "SNL" has been honored twice, in 1990 and 2009, with the prestigious George Foster Peabody Award and cited as "truly a national institution." "Saturday Night Live" was inducted into the Broadcasting Hall of Fame by the National Association of Broadcasters, and the show continues to garner the highest ratings of any late-night television program, entertaining millions each week.
"SNL" sketches still bear repeating on Monday mornings. With live show surprises, especially those timed to the election - Barack Obama's surprise walk-on, Hillary Clinton's performance opposite Amy Poehler and Senator John McCain's "Weekend Update" appearance - "SNL" is making headlines and influencing the political dialogue while skewering it at the same time. Beyond politics, the show's cast of recurring characters and its take on pop culture targets remain spot-on. The addition of the show's Emmy Award-winning SNL Digital Shorts continues to keep the show as current today as it was when it debuted.
"Saturday Night Live," which premiered October 11, 1975, is broadcast live from NBC's famed Studio 8H in New York City's Rockefeller Center. The program is a production of Broadway Video in association with SNL Studios. Lorne Michaels is the executive producer.

Cast Bios

Vanessa Bayer
Aidy Bryant
Taran Killam
Kate McKinnon
Bobby Moynihan
Jay Pharoah
Cecily Strong
Kenan Thompson
Beck Bennett
Michael Che
Pete Davidson
Leslie Jones
Colin Jost
Kyle Mooney
Sasheer Zamata
Lorne Michaels


Day and time: Saturdays on NBC (11:30 p.m.-1 a.m. ET)

Original Premiere: October 11, 1975

Season Premiere: September 27, 2014

Starring the SNL 2014 –2015 Company: Vanessa Bayer, Beck Bennett, Aidy Bryant, Michael Che, Pete Davidson, Leslie Jones, Colin Jost, Taran Killam, Kate McKinnon, Kyle Mooney, Bobby Moynihan, Jay Pharoah, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Sasheer Zamata

Executive producer: Lorne Michaels

Produced by: Steve Higgins & Erik Kenward

Director: Don Roy King

Supervising producer: Ken Aymong

Head Writers: Colin Jost, Rob Klein and Bryan Tucker

Writers: James Anderson, Jeremy Beiler, Michael Che, Mikey Day, Steve Higgins, Leslie Jones, Colin Jost, Zach Kanin, Chris Kelly, Erik Kenward, Rob Klein, Lorne Michaels, Claire Mulaney, Mike O'Brien, Josh Patten, Alison Rich, Katie Rich, Tim Robinson, Natasha Rothwell, Nick Rutherford,  Sarah Schneider, Pete Schultz, Streeter Seidell, John Solomon, Kent Sublette, Bryan Tucker

Film producer: Rhys Thomas

Musical directors: Lenny Pickett, Leon Pendarvis, Eli Brueggemann

Musicians: The Saturday Night Live Band

Production designers: Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, Keith Ian Raywood, N. Joseph DeTullio

Costume designer: Tom Broecker, Eric Justian

Announcer: Darrell Hammond

Production: Produced by SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video

Origination: NBC Studio 8H in Rockefeller Center