Saturday Night Live

About the Show

"Saturday Night Live," NBC's Emmy Award-winning late-night comedy showcase, returns for its 42nd season in the fall. 

Since its inception in 1975, "SNL" has launched the careers of many of the brightest comedy performers of their generation. As The New York Times noted on the occasion of the show's Emmy-winning 25th Anniversary special in 1999, "in defiance of both time and show business convention, 'SNL' is still the most pervasive influence on the art of comedy in contemporary culture." At the close of the century, "Saturday Night Live" placed seventh on Entertainment Weekly's list of the Top 100 Entertainers of the past 50 years.

The program has won 45 Emmy Awards, the most for any show in television history. "SNL" also holds the title for the most nominated television show in Emmy history with 202 nominations. "SNL" has been honored twice, in 1990 and 2009, with the prestigious George Foster Peabody Award and cited as "truly a national institution." "Saturday Night Live" was inducted into the Broadcasting Hall of Fame by the National Association of Broadcasters, and the show continues to garner the highest ratings of any late-night television program, entertaining millions each week.

"SNL" is making headlines and influencing the political dialogue while skewering it at the same time. Beyond politics, the show's cast of recurring characters and its take on pop culture targets remain spot-on. The addition of the show's Emmy Award-winning SNL Digital Shorts continues to keep the show as current today as it was when it debuted.

"Saturday Night Live," which premiered October 11, 1975, is broadcast live from NBC's famed Studio 8H in New York City's Rockefeller Center. The program is a production of Broadway Video in association with SNL Studios. Lorne Michaels is the executive producer.


Day and time: Saturdays on NBC (11:30 p.m.-1 a.m. ET)

Original Premiere: October 11, 1975

Season Premiere: October 3, 2015

Starring the SNL 2015 –2016 Company: Vanessa Bayer, Beck Bennett, Aidy Bryant, Michael Che, Pete Davidson, Leslie Jones, Colin Jost, Taran Killam, Kate McKinnon, Kyle Mooney, Bobby Moynihan, Jay Pharoah, Jon Rudnitsky, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Sasheer Zamata

Executive Producer: Lorne Michaels

Produced By: Steve Higgins, Erik Kenward, Lindsay Shookus, Erin Doyle

Director: Don Roy King

Supervising Producer: Ken Aymong

Head Writers: Rob Klein and Bryan Tucker

Writers: James Anderson, Jeremy Beiler, Chris Belair, Megan Callahan, Michael Che, Mikey Day, Steve Higgins, Fran Gillespie, Sudi Green, Colin Jost, Zach Kanin, Chris Kelly, Erik Kenward, Rob Klein, Paul Masella, Dennis McNicholas, Lorne Michaels, Josh Patten, Katie Rich, Tim Robinson, Sarah Schneider, Pete Schultz, Streeter Seidell, Dave Sirus, Will Stephen, Kent Sublette, Bryan Tucker

Film Producer: Rhys Thomas

Musical Directors: Lenny Pickett, Leon Pendarvis, Eli Brueggemann

Musicians: The Saturday Night Live Band

Production Designers: Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, Keith Ian Raywood, N. Joseph DeTullio

Costume Designers: Tom Broecker, Eric Justian

Announcer: Darrell Hammond

Production: Produced by SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video

Origination: NBC Studio 8H in Rockefeller Center