Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

About the Show

Created by Emmy Award-winning producer Dick Wolf, "Law & Order: Special Victims Unit," now in its 16th season, is the longest-running primetime drama currently on television. This hard-hitting and emotional series from NBC's "Law & Order" brand chronicles the life and crimes of the Special Victims Unit of the New York City Police Department, an elite squad of detectives who investigate sexually based crimes. 

As acting Commander of the SVU, Sergeant Olivia Benson (Mariska Hargitay) is a seasoned veteran of the unit who has seen it all. She leads with empathy and professionalism, all the while dealing with her difficult past - as a product of rape and a witness to her mother's grief, she can personally relate to each victim she tries to help.

Hargitay has garnered eight Emmy nominations for Lead Actress in a Drama Series for her role as Olivia Benson, and won the 2006 Emmy for that category. She has received six SAG nominations for Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series, two Golden Globe nominations for Lead Actress in a Drama Series, winning the award in 2005, and has won three Gracie Allen Awards for Outstanding Female Lead in 2004, 2009 and 2014. In 2013, she was honored with a star on Hollywood Walk of Fame. 

Detective Odafin "Fin" Tutuola (Ice T) adds a unique sense of humor and undercover investigative experience, making him a formidable match for any partner. Detectives Nick Amaro (Danny Pino) and Amanda Rollins (Kelli Giddish) have earned their place as top-notch SVU detectives and bring their own talents and style of investigation, while facing head-on the emotional toll it takes to work the SVU. Pino was nominated in 2013 and 2014 for the Imagen Award for his role as Nick Amaro, and was nominated for the ALMA Award for Favorite TV Actor in 2012. Assistant District Attorney Rafael Barba (Raúl Esparza) seeks justice for SVU's victims and survivors with precision and a passion to win. 

"SVU" has been frequently acknowledged for its guest players, with Emmy wins for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series for Ann-Margret (2010), Ellen Burstyn (2009), Cynthia Nixon (2008), Leslie Caron (2007) and Amanda Plummer (2005), and nominations for such renowned talent as Brenda Blethyn, Carol Burnett, Robin Williams, Marcia Gay Harden, Angela Lansbury, Marlee Matlin, Mare Winningham, Barbara Barrie, Martha Plimpton, Jane Alexander and Tracy Pollan.

In 2012, the NAACP Image Awards honored "SVU" as the year's Outstanding Drama Series, with Ice T and guest actress Anika Noni Rose nominated in the acting categories. In 2010, guest star Delroy Lindo won the Image Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series. Three "SVU" episodes have been nominated by the GLAAD Media Awards for outstanding representation of the LGBT community, and SVU was honored with two wins and ten Edgar Allan Poe award nominations for Best Television Episode. In addition, the show has garnered several People's Choice Award nominations, including Favorite Dramatic TV Actress (Hargitay), Favorite TV Drama, Favorite Scene Stealing Star (Richard Belzer, guest star Luke Perry, and winning guest star Robin Williams), and Favorite TV Crime Fighter (Hargitay). 

The "Law & Order" brand has tremendous global appeal and to date, "SVU" has been sold to over 250 territories around the world.

"Law & Order: Special Victims Unit" is a Wolf Films production in association with Universal Television. Dick Wolf is creator and executive producer; Warren Leight, Julie Martin, Jonathan Starch and Peter Jankowski are executive producers.

Cast Bios

Mariska Hargitay
Ice T
Kelli Giddish
Danny Pino
Raul Esparza




Dick Wolf


Executive Producers

Dick Wolf, Warren Leight, Julie Martin, Jonathan Starch, Peter Jankowski

Co-Executive Producers

Arthur Forney, Kevin Fox, Samantha Corbin-Miller

Produced By

Kenneth Brown

Consulting Producer

Ed Zuckerman


Mariska Hargitay, Jill Abbinanti, Mark Dragin


Amanda Slater, Michael Ciliento

Staff Writers

Robert Cohen, Celine Robinson


Alex Chapple, Jean de Segonzac, Mike Slovis

Director of Photography

Michael Green


Karen Stern, Jim Stewart, Leon Ortiz-Gill

Production Designer

Dean Taucher

Costume Designer

Juliet Polcsa


Jonathan Strauss, Lynn Kressel Casting

Music Composer

Mike Post


New York, NY

Produced By

Wolf Films in association with Universal Television