Days of our Lives

About the Show

"Like sands through the hourglass, so are the days of our lives." For over one-third of a century, those words have introduced and underscored one of daytime drama's rare mainstays. NBC's "Days of our Lives," which turned 49 in November 2014, first premiered as a half-hour drama in 1965 and expanded to an hour 10 years later.

The show is currently celebrating the countdown to its 50th anniversary and has garnered 43 Daytime Emmy Awards, including 2015's Outstanding Daytime Drama, and numerous nominations, as well as multiple People's Choice Awards, GLAAD Media Awards and Prism Awards. The show airs nationally on NBC in the United States and in over 25 countries internationally. The show's success derives from its consistent commitment to excellence in writing and storytelling - supported by a diverse ensemble of performers - and its uncanny knack for anticipating viewer interests. With its mix of classic genre traditions and groundbreaking narratives reflecting modern life, "Days of our Lives" remains a perennial favorite among viewers of all ages.

"Days of our Lives" is set in the fictitious Midwestern town of Salem. The core families are the Bradys, the Hortons and the DiMeras, and the multi-layered storylines involve elements of romance, adventure, mystery, comedy and drama.

"Days of our Lives" is produced by Corday Productions Inc. in association with Sony Pictures Television. Ken Corday is executive producer, with co-executive producers Greg Meng and Albert Alarr. Dena Higley and Josh Griffith are the head writing team.

Cast Bios

Kristian Alfonso
John Aniston
Camila Banus
Melissa Archer
Shawn Christian
Daniel Cosgrove
Bryan Dattilo
Eileen Davidson
Kassie DePaiva
Mary Beth Evans
Billy Flynn
Galen Gering
Deidre Hall
Drake Hogestyn
Lauren Koslow
Wally Kurth
Jen Lilley
Kate Mansi
Eric Martsolf
Joseph Mascolo
Peggy McCay
Casey Moss
True O'Brien
James Read
Melissa Reeves
James Reynolds
Suzanne Rogers
Christopher Sean
Freddie Smith
Chrishell Stause
Josh Taylor
Greg Vaughan
Guy Wilson
Robert Scott Wilson
Arianne Zucker


Day and Time

Mondays-Fridays on NBC (daytime, one-hour; check local station for time)

Premiere Date

November 8, 1965

Executive Producer

Ken Corday

Co-Executive Producer

Noel Maxam, Greg Meng, Lisa DeCazotte


Albert Alarr


Herb Stein, Phil Sogard, Albert Alarr, Grant A. Johnson, Steven Williford


Rick Draughon, Christopher Dunn, Ryan Quan, Elizabeth Snyder, Nancy Willams Watt, Jeanne Marie Ford, John Newman, Richard Culliton, Carolyn Culliton, Janet Iacobuzio, Peter T. Rich, Lacey Dyer, Roger Schroeder, David A. Levinson

Coordinating Producer

Janet Spellman-Rider, Tim Stevens

Production Coordinator

Krista Cremidan

Music Composer

Ken Corday, D. Brent Nelson

Music Director

Steve Reinhardt, D. Brent Nelson, Paul F. Antonelli

Production Designer

Daniel Olexiewicz


Juliette Harris, it Girl Public Relations, Maya Frangie

Casting Director

Marnie Saitta

Makeup Artists

Gail Hopkins, Nina Wells, Deidre Decker-Wilson, Joleen Rizzo, Glen Alen Gutierrez


Margie Puga, Matthew Holman, Leigh Ann Pitchen, Armando Licon, Jen Singleton, Lauren Upshaw

Produced By

Corday Productions Inc. in association with Sony Pictures Television


NBC Studios

Head Writer

Gary Tomlin, Christopher Whitesell

Costume Designer

Richard Bloore